A Brief History of HCYA Baseball

In the 1990's, HCYA was formed as an organizing force for homeschool activities of all kinds in the Houston area. Soon thereafter, the HCYA Eagles baseball team was formed by C.J. and Debby Coolidge (team directors) and Larry Cochran (head coach) as the first homeschool team in the area to provide Houston-area homeschoolers an opportunity to compete against private and public schools' baseball teams.

As the millennium turned, Coach Cochran teamed up with Coach Jeff Hartline of the Nashville Monarchs to organize the first of what would become an annual tournament of homeschool teams across the nation - the Homeschool World Series.

The Eagles won that inaugural tournament to become the first ever national champions. In honor of his contributions in organizing the event, the championship trophy for the tournament has thereafter been known as the "Cochran Cup".

In the years since, several other homeschool teams have been formed in Houston to serve different sections of town, but HCYA has continued its tradition of high quality baseball with a uniquely Christian approach.

Historical Results

  • 2000 - National Champions
  • 2001 - National Runner-up
  • 2002 - National Runner-up
  • 2003 - Eliminated in Regional bracket
  • 2004 - 2nd in Regional bracket. Worlds Series Qualifier. All-region: Charles Coolidge, Ryan Moreau, Kenny Perkins. All-American: Ryan Miller.
  • 2005 - Eliminated in Regional bracket. All-region: Rocky Roesler, Kenny Perkins, Luke Coolidge,
  • 2006 - Eliminated in Regional bracket. All-region: Luke Coolidge.
  • 2007 - 4th in Regional bracket. Worlds Series Qualifier. All-region: Trey Fox, Quentin McKeon, Luke Coolidge, All-American: Luke Coolidge.
  • 2008 - Eliminated in Regional bracket
  • 2009 - Eliminated in Regional bracket
  • 2010 - 4th place (Division 1). All-Americans: Dylan Bates, Ben Payne, Juan Solis.
  • 2011 - 13th place (Division 2). All-Americans: Nathan Falkenstine, Will Leighton.
  • 2012 - 13th place (Division 2). All-Americans: Drew Leighton, Josh Tobias.
  • 2013 - 7th place (Division 1). All-Americans: Drew Leighton, Joey Zepeda. Also won Stanley Krist Tournament. Finished 18-12-1
  • 2014 - 13th place (Division 2). All-Americans: Kristopher Nguyen, Daniel Goss. Final record 16-15
  • 2015 - 17th place (won Division 3). All-Americans: Kevin Mikulan, Cody Nguyen, John Merkle. Also won St. John XXIII's Invitational Tournament. Finished 18-16-2
  • 2016 - 14th place (Division 2). All-Americans: John Merkle, Bryce Roberts. Also won El Campo Invitational Tournament. Final record 23-18-1
  • 2017 - 9th place (won Division 2). All-Americans: Nolan Rising, Jacob Steinman, Micah Davis. Finished 18-16

Alumni College Baseball Players:

  • Matt Zappasodi ('02) - Bethel College, Mishawaka, IN
  • Matt Fuller ('06) - Alvin Comm. College, TX
  • Dylan Bates ('10) - Univ. of Houston, Victoria, TX
  • Brodie Brown ('10) - Brookhaven College, Farmers Branch, TX
  • Nathan Falkenstine ('11) - Univ. of Houston, Victoria, TX
  • Sam Payne ('12) - Lone Star College, Houston, TX
  • Chris Amend ('14) - Alvin Comm. College, TX
  • Kris Nguyen ('14) - Alvin Comm. College, TX
  • Toby Stringer ('17) - Cisco College, Cisco, TX

In Memory of Ryan Miller #22

In honor of the sacrifice he made for our country, giving his life in action in the war in Iraq in September 2006, HCYA Baseball has permanently retired the number 22 for Lance Corporal Ryan Miller. Before he was a war hero, he was an All-American ('04) for the HCYA Eagles, and a great teammate. He will never be forgotten by this organization.
Copyright (c) HCYA | hcyaeagles@gmail.com - 281.849.4292 | Follow us on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram !